

Chairman S. Naomi Rodriguez

### TOWN OF LEDYARD Administration Committee Meeting Minutes

Regular Meeting		
Wednesday, March 13, 2024	5:30 PM	Town Hall Annex- Hybrid Format

Council Chambers, Town Hall Annex Building

Join Zoom Meeting from your Computer, Smart Phone or Tablet:

https://us06web.zoom.us/j/89226095013?pwd=05TlAQf3HVURAaPTsg4EbmCiRHbGrD.1

## Or by Audio Only: Telephone: +1 646 558 8656; Meeting ID: 892 2609 5013; Passcode: 293008

### I CALL TO ORDER

the Meeting was called to order by Councilor Garcia-Irizarry at 5:30 p.m. at the Council Chambers Town Hall Annex Building.

Councilor Garcia-Irizarry welcomed all to the Hybrid Meeting. She stated for the Town Council Administration Committee and members of the Public who were participating via video conference that the remote meeting information was available on the Agenda that was posted on the Town's Website - Granicus-Legistar Meeting Portal.

### II. ROLL CALL

Present: Carmen Garcia-Irizarry Kevin Dombrowski April Brunelle

In addition, the following were present:

S. Naomi Rodriguez Town Council Chairman Jessica BuhleTown Councilor Roxanne Maher Administrative Assistant

# III. RESIDENTS & PROPERTY OWNERS COMMENTS None.

### IV. PRESENTATIONS / INFORMATIONAL ITEMS

None.

#### V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

MOTION to approve the Administration Committee's Regular Meeting Minutes of January 10, 2024.

Moved by Councilor Dombrowski, seconded by Councilor Brunelle VOTE: 3 - 0 Approved and so declared

### **RESULT:** APPROVED AND SO DECLARED

- VI. OLD BUSINESS
- 1. Any other Old Business proper to come before the Committee

None

- VII. NEW BUSINESS
- 1. MOTION to appoint the following as the Town of Ledyard's Representatives to serve on Southeastern Connecticut Regional Resource Recovery Authority (SCRRRA) for a three (3) year term as follows:

• Public Works Director Mr. Steve Masalin as a Regular Member to complete a term ending January 31, 2027.

• Mr. Joseph Lozier (R) 198 Gallup Hill Road, Ledyard, as an Alternate Member to complete a term ending January 31, 2025.

Background: Each Member Town of the Southeastern Connecticut Regional Resources Recovery Authority (SCRRRA) has the ability to appoint two Representatives to the Board. One Regular Member and One Alternate Member who each serve for a three-year term.

The typical Southeastern Connecticut Regional Resources Recovery Authority (SCRRA) Board Member was a senior public works official for the town they serve. Because the oversight of the town's waste management was an important aspect of Mr. Masalin's duties the Town Council has been appointing Public Works Director Steve Masalin as the town's Alternate Member Representative to SCRRA.

Both Mr. Masalin and Mr. Lozier have been representing the town well on the SCRRRA Board for many years.

Mayor Allyn, III has requested that Ledyard's two representatives roles be switched so that Public Works Director Mr. Masalin would serve as the Regular Member and Mr. Lozier would serve as the Alternate Member. Discussion: None.

**VOTE: 3 - 0 Approved and so declared** 

**RESULT:**RECOMMENDED FOR APPROVAL**MOVER:**Kevin Dombrowski**SECONDER:**April Brunelle

AYE: 3 Garcia-Irizarry, Dombrowski and Brunelle

- 2. MOTION to reappoint the following members to the Water Pollution Control Authority for a three (3) year term ending April 11, 2027:
  - · Mr. Monir Tewfik (U) 33 Seabury Avenue, Ledyard (Regular Member)
  - Ms. Sharon Wadecki (D) 44 Fanning Road, Ledyard (Regular Member)
  - · Mr. Edmond Lynch (D) 11 Red Brook Lane, Ledyard (Regular Member)
  - · Mr. J.A. Capon (D) 37 Silas Dean Road (Alternate Member)
  - Mr. James Ball (D) 674R Shewville Road, Ledyard (Alternate Member).

Moved by Councilor Brunelle, seconded by Councilor Dombrowski Background: All of these WPCA Members have been serving on the town for many years and would like to continue to serve on the WPCA. Their reappointment have been endorsed by both the WPCA and their respective parties.

Discussion: None. VOTE: 3 - 0 Approved and so declared

**RESULT:**RECOMMENDED FOR APPROVAL**MOVER:**April Brunelle**SECONDER:**Kevin Dombrowski

AYE: 3 Garcia-Irizarry, Dombrowski and Brunelle

3. Any other New Business proper to come before the Committee.

None.

IV ADJOURNMENT

Councilor Garcia-Irizarry moved the meeting be adjourned, seconded by Councilor Brunelle.

**VOTE: 3 - 0 Approved and so declared**, the meeting was adjourned at 5:34 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Carmen Garcia-Irizarry Committee Chairman Administration Committee DISCLAIMER: Although we try to be timely and accurate these are not official records of the Town.